Retro-Renault Archive Forum Index  
SEARCH THE ARCHIVE FORUMS  •  Log in
Hello, you are currently browsing to Retro-Renault Archive which is a copy of our old forum. You cannot post replies in this forum. Please click here to go to the active website. 
 A Retro Newbie
El_Douglito

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 7:20 am

[b]Introduction[/b]
I’ve been lurking around this site for a wee while as my quest for R19 16V knowledge has led me here. I’m a 21 year old student, living in Devon and with a passion for adrenaline sports and cars.

[b]The Tractor[/b]
Having previously owned a 1987 0.9 Ferrari AX (based on the Citroen AX but with a Ferrari badge stuck on) and a 1991 1.8 Vauxhall Cavalier, I decided to go the way of Renault as a 1.9 TD 19 came about for sale at £350 last year. Unfortunately the price was reflective of the car as the brake piping was bodged, turbo temperamental and had some engine component from a 1.9 TD Pug which I was told caused the camshaft to rip itself to bits. Despite it’s premature death the 19 served me well for a year of cheap motoring and transported me and a pal to the French and Italian Alps. The car racked up thousands of reliable miles and handled very nicely.

[b]The Valver[/b]
Following the sad death of the black beast I decided I needed a proper Renault, an uber quick one, a wolf in sheep’s clothing, a hot hatch…a Valver. A day after slaying the diesel came a 95 R19 16v Ph 2 Exec for £550 with 97k on the clock. Unfortunately the 16v started where the diesel finished as I needed AA help to sort out 2 immobilizer failures, a starter motor problem, a snapped clutch cable and finally an expensive new clutch from a garage.
The problems now seem to be ironed out as I have what feels to be a quick, cheap, practical and perfectly balanced piece of French artistry.